FroYo for Droid most likely hitting this week


I hate all the rumors as much as the rest of you, especially when it comes to the firmware updates for Android.  However, I’m pleasantly happy to see some real truth to this and the fact that FroYo (2.2) will be coming to the Motorola Droid next week… barring any of those strange setbacks that Verizon seems to be noted for.

Verizon has listed a product feature about firmware 2.2 for the Droid which states some new features and such.  This is obviously big news because it means they are about ready to start pushing it:

If that isn’t enough to get you giddy, then you’re dead to me!  Having tested an early version of FroYo on my Droid already, I simply can’t wait for the pure official release with all the bugs ironed out.  I have even reverted back to stock 2.1 just for this momentous occasion.  I know, I’m strange.  Why would I get rid of root and all that?  Personally, I’d rather just stick with the official stock release for now as there is too much other things going on to worry about rooting and themes and custom firmware.  Although, I will miss SetCPU for overclocking but I believe someone will get a nice rooted stock version out there in no time.

Oh, and to make things even better.  Matt, a moderator at the Motorola forums had mentioned that the roll out could have started as early as Friday evening for a select few and that this week will be the big push:

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

