UFC Undisputed 2010 – Afterthoughts


I’m quite the UFC fan.  I am one of those people who really never liked boxing at all, but can’t help but love what MMA has to offer.  It’s just much more diverse and unpredictable and dammit it’s enjoyable.  I do believe it’s the next evolution in contact sports and that boxing is dying.  That is why I get so jazzed up for the video game version of this great sport.  You see, over the past ten years or so there were games based off of the UFC and Pride.  Sadly, they weren’t anything to write home about besides PrideFC, which was pretty fun and addicting for its time.  But in the new era of Ultimate Fighting, it was time to give the games a proper treatment.

UFC President Dana White first went to Electronic Arts to try to get them on board for the new look of the UFC games.  EA basically laughed at them.  Dana White then managed to get THQ on board and has been hell bent on making EA look like fools.  That’s just the kind of person Dana White is at times and its rather respectable if you ask me.  Of course now it has been a few years and EA decided to make their own MMA game to compete with THQ’s UFC franchise.  Funny how that works huh?  Okay, now that we have a slight history lesson let’s roll on to the game.

Last year we were presented with the best MMA game that we’ve seen so far in UFC Undisputed 2009.  Just by the time you could tell that this would turn into a yearly sports offering (and the sales figures didn’t hurt either).  The problem is when companies turn sports into a yearly offering, you don’t always get a fresh game.  A lot of the times you get some small incremental updates and changes in rosters *looks at Madden.  Thankfully, THQ delivered more than just a quick update on this years UFC offering.

I’ve been reading and anticipating UFC 2010 for awhile now.  In fact, that obsession led to a lot of work not getting done on time!  But hey, the game is finally here and I’ve played it quite a lot and it’s great. Not excellent, but great.  I really dig a lot of the new additions to the game including a better career mode, presentation, and the fighting mechanics.  It surely isn’t without its faults though.  I can’t say after playing through it so much that I’m content forever.  Nope, not at all.  There is a ton of potential to be had here and I know that eventually we’ll see it.  After all, this is only their second attempt at the UFC franchise and it’s already taken a huge step over last year.  Basically all I can say is that the future is bright for UFC and video game fans.  While I do enjoy 2010, I wish there was a bit more done to it.  But I also have unrealistic ambitions at times.  I said it in my review and I’ll say it here, these sports are friggen’ complex.  Nearly all sports are whether it be hockey, football, soccer, and even basketball.  It’s just very difficult to reproduce all the factors and unpredictability that can occur in real life onto a disc.  But what THQ has done is create the best MMA game that you can buy up to this point.  With competition coming from EA’s MMA, expect an all out war coming.  And you know what?  It’s going to be a hell of a lot of fun to watch.

Check out my full review of UFC Undisputed 2010 at gamefaqs.com

Leave a Reply

