UFC Undisputed 2010 Demo – Impressions


While UFC Undisputed 2010 is scheduled to hit shelves on May 25th, the big time fans just couldn’t wait to get a little taste of what was to come.  Enter the demo.  But it wouldn’t be a UFC Undisputed demo without a bit of controversy, now would it?  The demo doesn’t officially hit till next week, but if you are a registered user at the UFC Undisputed community website, then you received special access to the demo last night.  After a ton of fan abuse, a lot of confusion from the folks at THQ, and some overloading of servers, the demo codes were finally released for all registered users to enjoy.

As I loaded the demo, the first thing that came to mind was how much nicer the menu is.  You would think this wouldn’t be a huge deal, but trust me, compared to last year’s clunky menu interface, this one is beautiful!  It’s so much quicker and smoother and everything is just easily accessible (at least, everything on the demo).  Navigating around seemed snappier and it was very easy to setup the fight that I wanted.  Again, if you remember how it was in ’09, you would understand why it just feels so fresh this time around.  Menu orgies aside, it was time to get to the game.

As I started my first fight, I noticed the graphics were similar.  This isn’t a bad thing though considering the graphics from ’09 were top notch.  But what stood out was that the presentation felt much better.  It’s familiar, but different.  The whole demo follows that familiar but different feeling.  The fight began, and it was time to lay waste… and this is where the biggest surprise comes in.

The speed of the fighting is much quicker than last years.  It takes a bit of time to get used to, but once I did, I really appreciated it.  Last year’s installment, although great for a first attempt, was slow and robotic.  This year, we are taken to new heights and the fights just feel much smoother, more realistic, and more responsive.  I really feel that this speed improvement adds a near perfect balance to the game – it doesn’t feel too arcade-like and it doesn’t feel like slug fighting.

I won’t lie.  I have had my ass handed to me in many fights so far (maybe one shouldn’t go straight to the highest difficulty first).  A huge impression that the demo gave me was that if you attempt to go in fighting like you would from ’09, you’ll probably get knocked around like a fool.  The fighting system is just that much different.  And yes, that’s a good thing.  It pulls off much more realistic fights with all the additions and the behavior of the fighters.

Yes, the behavior of the fighters.  Each of the four fighters in the demo feels pretty different from each other – unlike last year where it seemed like everyone was generally the same with a few different moves.  Granted, none of us are going to know how well this is pulled off with over 100 fighters in the retail version, but at least the demo proves that there will be diversity.  I’ve watched a few CPU vs. CPU fights and at times it feels like you are watching a real UFC fight because of this diversity.  It’s never going to be perfect, but it sure is a lot of fun.

I’ve seen enough in the demo to say that UFC Undisputed 2010 is going to be a day-one purchase.  There are so many additions and changes to the game that it’s well worth it.  I really feel that I haven’t even come close to touching everything this fighting system has to offer.  In one fight, I was on the bottom in the ground game near the cage.  I somehow managed to kick off the cage to flip myself over and allow my fighter the top position.  It was truly an awesome moment!

Familiar but different.  This is a great phrase to use for UFC Undisputed 2010 and I’m sticking with it.  Everything felt familiar, but it was like playing an entirely new game.  I walked away from the demo with a great feeling and I can’t wait to get my hands on the retail version for total greatness and a full review.

It wouldn’t be fun to write all of this and not show some videos huh?  So here you go, two full fight videos!  I wanted to mix it up a bit because it seems most sites are doing the Machida vs. Shogun – Rampage vs. Evans fights (due to the real upcoming UFC events).  But let’s be different.  Here we have Machida vs. Rampage and Evans vs. Shogun.  Both are CPU vs. CPU fights.  I know the quality isn’t the greatest, but sometimes you just have to make do with what you have.

(Password for each video is  ufc2010)

Machida vs. Rampage

Evans vs. Shogun

Leave a Reply

