Just Cause 2 – Impressions


Sometimes there are games that you really don’t notice or if you do notice, you don’t think much about it.  Just Cause 2 was one of those games for me.  I didn’t pay much attention to it and that’s probably due to the fact that I didn’t really touch the first game much.  Then something happened, I heard some people talking about it and saw some crazy videos, I just had to grab the demo off of Xbox Live.  Soon enough, I couldn’t put it down.  I wanted… to blow more stuff up!

Just Cause 2 definitely has taken me by surprise.  The game offers some really fun mechanics which allow you to do some really crazy things!  The demo gives you quite a lot to do and it isn’t too restrictive.  You’ll start out at your hideout and can mess around there as much as you want.  Once you take that big leap off the cliff is when the demo timer kicks in.  You get thirty great minutes to cause crazy-shit havoc!  In this time limit you can pretty much do as you please.  This is a sandbox style game, it’s very open world and you can pretty much go where you want.  Oh and not only is it a very open world, it also carries very destructible environments!  Boom!

The controls take a bit of time to get used to at first, but once you do you’ll start having a blast trying to figure out what cool stunts you can pull off.  You have your guns and grenades of course, you also have a whip (I think) for melee combat.  Okay, pretty typical, but what else?  Oh, how about a parachute that you can use at any time when you have enough height, and a grappling hook that you can use to pull objects, climb various structures, or even grapple two things together?  Now we’re talking!

Once you start learning the game you realize that you can do a ton of fun things.  One simple thing I like doing is grappling two canisters together, shooting them, and watching them take off while tied together and just going bat-shit crazy before blowing up.  It’s a good time.  Another amusing thing I found to do was to grapple an enemy to a canister and shooting it!  It’s so fresh to see an enemy be yanked far up in the sky!  Oh hell, why not just grapple them to a moving vehicle?  I’m telling you, it’s great!  The game has this fun factor for allowing you to be creative and pull off insane stunts.  Try to think of new and interesting things to do, chances are you probably can do it (within limitation of the game mechanics).

I can’t say for sure if I’ll buy Just Cause 2 even though I do keep going back to the demo.  With so many other games that I need to catch up on and even more interesting games coming out later on, it’s a tough decision.  Usually, I don’t get so involved or excited about games like this, but god damn, it has that unique fun factor.  I don’t care about the missions, just let me blow shit up in humorous stunt-like ways!  If you haven’t had a chance to check this game out, get on Xbox Live or PSN and download the demo.  It’s completely worth your time!  And just in case you need a little reassurance, check out the vid:

Leave a Reply

