The Samsung Solution – Fixin’ It!


Having troubles with a Samsung LCD TV? (could be other types as well).  Is it driving you craaaaaaaaazy!  Well, depending on the problem, there could be a solution.

I bought my Samsung LCD in 2007.  It has served me well as being a great HDTV with lovely picture quality.  The problem was at some point last year it started acting funny.  When I would turn it on, it kind of clicked for a bit before it would turn on.  Actually, it sounded like it was cycling itself over and over and then eventually would turn on.  I didn’t understand it, but I figured it was just some strange thing and would get better.  Of course I was wrong.

It got worse.  At first, the cycling (trying to turn itself on over and over) was minimum.  A few tries and the TV would come on just fine.  As time went on, it would take even longer… and longer…and you get the idea.  It came to to a point to where it would turn on after awhile, but it would have purple artifacts all over the screen.  I would have to turn it off and on again and pray it would get normal.  It would.  And then came a point to where I would turn it on and get a bunch of colors.  Then the worst came.  It didn’t want to power on at all.  It would just cycle and cycle for hours.  I’d be lucky if I could get it on.  That was terrible!

Enough was enough though.  It wasn’t an old TV and it should not have these problems.  I was not ready to buy a new TV and I didn’t want to spend all that money on a repair man.  So I did some research and found my answers. (You’ll have to excuse the following pictures.  I had to grab them from the video I recorded when doing this.  I did this fix back in November and for some reason never took pictures).

(Ah, the Samsung TV displaying LSD colors man)

The following is going to show you how you can fix this problem.  But a fair warning – This can be very dangerous as parts in the TV can hold charges for a long time and you could possibly get the shock of your life if you aren’t careful.  So.. If you are afraid of this stuff then don’t do it.

What you’ll need (as far as I can remember):

A soldering iron (I used a 45w)

Solder

Some Capacitors! I got some from Radioshack and they are under $2.  Part number 272-1032

Screwdriver

Pliers

It seems the problem comes from the fact that Samsung used really cheap capacitors in these TV’s.  Shame on them!  After awhile, the capacitors will start getting worn and leaking.  This is what is causing all this mess.

(A close look at the capacitors in the TV.  You can see the tops are leaking in two of them)

The first step is to take your TV apart.  As I’ve said, there are elements in here that can hold charges.  Be careful!  I’m not sure if this helps or not, but I unplugged my TV and let it sit for hours before I decided to do any work on it.

So here is the back of the TV.  And there is the board where a lot of the magic happens.  You’ll see there are cable connectors and such on them.  You’ll want to carefully take those out because we will need to unscrew the board and be able to flip it over.  You’ll also see all the capacitors huddled together on that corner.

The next step would be to identify which capacitors are bad.  As the pictures above show, you can see which ones are bad by the tops and how they are deteriorating and leaking.  It’s very easy to spot this.  Now you’ll want to get that soldering iron warmed up and your pliers ready.

(Board flipped over so you can see how the capacitors are soldered in)

Soldering iron ready to go?  Cool!  Again, be careful.  The way I did this was to gently grab the capacitor I wanted to take out with the pliers.  While I had this gentle grip on them, I would take the soldering iron underneath to warm up the solder and be able to pull the capacitor out.  An easier way would be to buy some soldering wick as well.  You could then use it to simply take off this solder underneath much easier and then pull the capacitor out.  I tend to do things the harder way though.

Alright, bad capacitor out?  Time to put the new one in.  I did this by setting the new capacitor in and then underneath the board, bend the capacitor pins so it wouldn’t move.  This way I wouldn’t have to have a grip on the capacitor while I was soldering it in (the pins on the capacitors are long and you will have a lot of excess).

As you can see, the capacitor is soldered in now and there is a lot of excess pin.  I just took some cutters and shortened them down.  I forgot to grab a screen of it, but I shortened mine down right to the solder.  You really should shorten them because you don’t want those accidentally touching something else!

Okay, we have one of the capacitors in!

At this point, I didn’t have an extra capacitor because Radioshack only had one left in stock.  So, I finished the other one up the next day.  I decided not to wait and to try the TV out anyway.  I wanted to make sure nothing was going to blow up 🙂

(SUCCESS!)

And there we have it!  The capacitors were causing all the problems!

Like I said, I did this back in November.  It’s now March and my TV never had ANY of those problems anymore.  It’s such a relief!  That is the Samsung Solution!

Total cost?  Well, under $10 for the capacitors you’ll need (probably under $5 actually).  A soldering iron would probably cost under $15 and of course the solder isn’t much.  So let’s just say under $30.  Compare that to the hundreds it would cost for a repair man or over a thousand for a brand new TV.  Ah, not so bad huh?

Leave a Reply

