Motorola Droid – Afterthoughts


I’m not going to turn this into an iPhone vs. Droid debate.  I’ve never used an iPhone.  In fact, I’ve never even seen one outside of the videos and ads.  I know, very sheltered I am.  If that is what you’re interested in then I suggest searching around for the numerous versus articles.  This is just about the Droid baby – just about the Droid.

With that said…

Having been a Verizon Wireless customer for many years, you learned something.  They just didn’t offer the coolest phones.  So, while other carriers were getting these super cool phones, and phone envy would kick in – we were stuck with more of the same.  But that has been changing over the past year or two and the Motorola Droid is a great example.

I bought my Droid at the beginning of January.  I was very nervous about putting down that kind of money on a new phone, especially when my “new every two” was still a year away.  I saw all the ads, I read so many reviews, I looked over a ton of forums and I just couldn’t hold back the phone envy anymore.  I had to have it.  And have it I did!  It has been a little over two months now of pure Droid usage and I regret nothing!

“These aren’t the droids you’re looking for”

I respectfully disagree, Mr. Kenobi!  This has been exactly what I’ve been looking for.

The Droid is the finest phone I have ever owned up to this point.  It has a very classy shape to it (It’s more or less a rectangle) and it feels comfortable holding it (or maybe I just have big hands?)  It also feels sturdy.  I have never had any thought of this phone feeling cheap-o, and for the price, it shouldn’t feel that way.  Motorola did a great job on delivering a sleek, simple design that just works for it.

DROID!!!!!

Ah, how I love hearing that as the phone turns on.  It’s like you just turned on a robot beast from hell and it says, “I’m not pissing around, I’m ready to rock!”  For being a cell phone, the speaker quality is great.  I use it to listen to podcasts, online radio, mp3’s, and whatever else comes my way.  Plug in a set of good headphones and you’ll really appreciate the sound quality.  Even without headphones, the speaker produces a great bit of loudness and quality that is nice to have for a change.  Speaking of quality…

Dropped calls you say?

Not here!  Granted, I live in an area with very good Verizon coverage, but I’ve never experienced a dropped call.  I do believe that Verizon carries the best coverage in the U.S which could be a reason for that.  I’ve noticed that talking on the phone was far more pleasant on the droid compared to a lot of other phones I have tried.  I have had no complaints about my voice quality from others and I can hear everyone else just fine.  Considering it is a phone, and a lot of “phones” actually can suffer from this, I was extremely pleased that this little monster had held up its end on the phone performance.

Sleek user interface?  Check!

I also really enjoy the user interface.  It isn’t super smooth but it moves around a lot better than other phones (ya I’m looking at you Windows Mobile!)  The screen is very responsive to your touch so navigating around is just sexy.  This also includes web browsing which I do a bit on the phone.  It does stutter a bit, but it gets the job done and I’m sure it will only get better.  Google has done a fine job with their Android OS and the Droid incorporates it very well.

Apps, Apps, Apps!

Everybody loves their apps!  I can’t comment on all the apps that the iPhone offers, but the Droid seems to have everything I want.  The amount of apps available in such a short time that the Android OS has been out is really good.  It seems that a lot of people are taking a liking to it.  I will say that I have always thought it was really cool how the iPhone had all those apps that you just simply download and use.  Now I can see why.  Apps are exciting little creatures.  At least, so far, I have found many apps for all my needs.  I’m not going to get into the amount of apps or the best apps, just that I am loving the apps available for Android.

I can’t sit here and just praise the thing to high heaven though as it does have some problems.

The camera isn’t the best.  A lot of people have stated that and it is true.  It takes a bit to actually snap the picture and then reload to take another.  It doesn’t have the best low light conditions but you know what?  It’s a phone.  I’m just glad there is a camera and it does work.  This doesn’t mean that the photos are horrible.  You can take very good pictures once you mess with it enough.  On the flip side of that, the video quality is great.

Another small issue is the buttons on the front.  They aren’t always convenient and if you are like me, you end up hitting them at the wrong time.  I think a little more work could have went into that idea, but if you are indeed like me, you will adjust and they will be familiar friends – Familiar friends that annoy you at times.

The last thing I will touch on is that I wish Motorola or Verizon would get their act together.  This could just be me throwing a child-like tantrum, but we would really appreciate our 2.1 firmware!  I just hope that updates don’t become a “delay” trend.  Then again, if you do some research, you can learn all about rooting the system 🙂  You will find plenty of fun things to do with that!  See, there’s something for everyone.

And that’s about the extent of my complaining. Seriously, I just love this phone enough that there isn’t much for me to complain about.  *snuggles phone

Honestly, I just don’t have much more to say.  I have finally found a “gadget” phone that does everything I want and more.  From its sleek look, easy interface, and capabilities – I’ve finally found the love of a lifetime?  Okay, that doesn’t work too well.  Let’s just say that I’ve never questioned myself once if the purchase was worth it.  I nearly always question phone purchases, but not on this one.  And that, my friends, is fresh.

Just my thoughts!

One Response to “Motorola Droid – Afterthoughts”

  1. I agree on most of this however I’m still not happy with the games on the market. The Apps however are great there is everything u could want or need for them quite amazing. The Droid is the first good phone I ever bought and not disappointed at all, glad I made the choice. Actually I bought two of them one for my girlfriend and she loves it. Love the phone I use it everytime I look and post on this blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

