Heavy Rain – Afterthoughts


This is not a game review.  It may seem like it in certain sections, but I am trying to keep away from being a review.  My afterthoughts are mostly just me discussing how I feel about a game after I play it.  For my first afterthoughts section – I check out Heavy Rain 

“How far will you go to save someone you love?”

This is the main theme of Heavy Rain, a recently released game from developer Quantic Dream.  You may remember them from their last outing , “Indigo Prophecy” or “Fahrenheit”, depending on where you live.  If you have had a chance to play that game, then you have a bit of an idea of what to expect from Heavy Rain.  I say a bit because I feel that Quantic Dream took a good idea and completely expanded on it.

When I heard about this game awhile ago, I knew I had to have it.  I thoroughly enjoyed Indigo Prophecy because it was such a different experience.  I do feel that this type of game appeals to a certain audience.  It isn’t going to be for everyone.  But for me, it was exactly what I hoped for – A unique experience.

After finally getting my hands on it and playing through it, my hopes were beyond satisfied.  The soundtrack is top notch, the visuals are mostly beautiful to look at, the theme is very adult like, and the story is very well done.  As I played through it I just felt like I was really a part of it.  It just has a way to engulf you.  I could feel the emotions of these characters as they encountered real life dilemmas and fears.  If you have ever wanted to know what it feels like to have an anxiety attack, Heavy Rain will make you feel that.  Considering the extreme tension of the story – it may make you feel like you are actually having one!  This game isn’t quite for the weak at heart.

Speaking of the story though, Heavy Rain tells it quite well.  I won’t dive into the whole plot or anything but there is something I would like to explain – This story is Your story.  They give you the beginning and the end, what you do in between is up to you.  That is just one of the great things about Heavy Rain.  You have many choices to make throughout it.  There can be severe consequences for the choices you make as well as positives.  The story will change depending on your actions.  This gives it great replay value.  There are a multitude of endings as well to correspond with what you do.  So be prepared for a difficult road through your story.

After my play through, I realized that I could have done so many things differently.  When the story unfolds, you too will be sitting there asking yourself, what if?  That is a great achievement for a video game.  I just found myself thrown into this and I didn’t want it to end.  Luckily, I have the chance to go through it again and to figure out these, what if’s.

As I have said, this game isn’t for everyone.  The controls are very different as it heavily utilizes Quick Time Events.  The way they are used though gives it that extra depth to the game for the most part.  They aren’t just thrown around for the sake of it.  They seem to be placed in a way that makes you feel like you are doing it.  I personally enjoyed the way the control scheme is.  I felt like I was interacting with the game and not just pushing buttons for the sake of it.

If you can’t tell, I highly enjoyed my play through of Heavy Rain.  I can’t wait till I get some time to get back into it and rewrite my story.  I also really need to get a hold of the soundtrack because it is fantastic.  I’m not going to tell you to go buy the game.  I’m sure you have seen enough screenshots, videos, and reviews to make up your mind already.  This is just how I feel about the game.  It sits proudly in my collection!

All I can say is – It’s Fresh

Check out my full review: http://www.gamefaqs.com/console/ps3/review/R139938.html

Leave a Reply

